+91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21 | +91 8879755458

News & Events

News Room >> News & Event >> News Content
19 Sep 2016
PSK Sports Committee Hosts Awards Distribution Function for 2015-16

Yet another year of sports events conducted by the Palanpur Samaj Kendra (PSK) Sports Committee concluded graciously with awards given to the winners of 2015 -16, at the Award function held on August 21, 2016 at the Police Gymkhana, Mumbai. The function was held been 11.00 am and 12.00 noon followed by snacks.

The morning began with a lovely recital of the Navkaar Mahamantra by Shimoni A. Shah followed by a beautiful welcome speech by Aashiya Parikh, concluding with these lovely words “Ability is what you are capable of doing, motivation determines what you do & attitude determines how well you do it. Good, better, best never let it rest, until your good is better and your better is best.” 

Ms. Nirmala Kotnis, a badminton champion who won many medals at National and International levels and also covered the Rio Olympics 2016 Badminton tournament as an expert with Star Sports network, graced the occasion as Chief Guest. A memento was presented to her by the Sports Committee members Nikhil N. Shah and Nita K. Mehta.

Other dignitaries on the dais were Navinbhai D. Mehta, Bharatbhai P.Mehta, Dr. Pradipbhai Parekh & Kumar A. Mehta.

In his speech, the Sports Committee convener Kumar A. Mehta thanked all for their participation and support. He briefly traced the history of the sports activities of Palanpur Samaj Kendra, encouraging the participants and motivating them to continue with their efforts.

The Sports Committee thanked Nimish N. Shah for his voluntary services offered through the 26 years since inception of the events. He was presented with a token of appreciation by Milan P. Mehta. Shah on behalf of the sports committee thanked the Sponsors and also requested them
to actively participate in the sports activities as well. He concluded with these words, “Make the events more eventful not necessarily successful”. 

Navinbhai D. Mehta Chairman of PSK thanked the sponsors, appreciated the work of the sports committee and congratulated the participants and winners. Navinbhai also encouraged the community and parents to be proactive with the participation and requested the Sponsors to continue with their support as well. He also praised the financial support and infrastructure available for the sports activities.

This was followed by the prize distribution ceremony conducted by Nimishbhai.

Ms. Kotnis said she was delighted to see how the community has supported the sports activities stating that she saw a new stream of sports coming up through this Samaj. She requested all those present to join sporting activities. In support of what Navinbhai and Nimishbhai had said she also stated that the Palanpur Samaj does have the ability and a strong infrastructure to support sports activities however there seemed to be a lack of numbers in participation, the right support is available of which proper advantage still remains to be taken going ahead and saying “Palanpur Samaj Kendra awards IS JUST A START and you should aim for the Olympic Medal”. Concluding her speech with these motivating words “Try and Fail but don’t fail to try in Life”

The event ended with a Vote of Thanks by Nimishbhai and a token of appreciation given to Aashiya Parikh by Shaila R. Shah for compering the event, followed by the National Anthem led by Shimoni A. Shah.
- Inputs from PSK Sports Committee

Click here to view more images

Click here to view results of Badminton Tournament

Click here to view results of Atletics Meet

The results of the Chess, Carrom and Tennis Tournaments played in January 2016 are: 





Runner Up

Under 8

Krish Mehta

Vedant Kothari

8-14 Years

Shlok V. Zaveri

Parth Mehta

14-22 Years

Archit Zaveri

Sharvi Bhansali

22-40 Years

Priyesh Kothari

Preksha Zaveri

Above 40 Years

Pratish Mehta

Mahipal Parikh






Runner Up

8-14 Years (Boys)

Parth R. Doshi

Krish R. Doshi

 15-22 Years (Boys)

Samkit S. Shah

Vivek Y. Shah

23-40 Years (Men)

Dr. Pankaj Mehta

Rajesh M. Doshi

Above 40 years (Men)

Jinesh Mehta

Saunak Shah

14-22 (Girls)

Aashi Doshi

Harshvi Shah

23-40 (Women)

Anvi Shah

Manali Shah

Above 40 (Women)

Sonali Parikh

Nita Mehta

Mixed Doubles

Riyan R. Doshi & Sanjay M. Doshi

Anvi Shah & Ravish Shah

Special Prize: Parham C Mehta Youngest Participant - Age 5 Yrs





Runner Up

Under 14 (Boys)

Rhiaan Jhaveri

Sheril Shah

14-22 (Boys)

Sankit Shah

Riyan Doshi

23-40 years (Men)

Jinesh Mehta

Saunak Shah

 Above 40 years (Men)

Rajkumar Doshi

Pratish Mehta

Ladies Singles

Rashi Shah

Nidhi Shah

Men’s Doubles

Sankit Shah & Saunak Shah

Jinesh Mehta & Sagar Shah

Mixed Doubles

Hardi Shah & Sagar Shah

Riyaan Doshi & Nita Mehta



Members can now request for a soft copy of the names and addresses of all those listed in the Directory in Excel format. The copy will contain the list with all the updates that have been informed by members till the last day of the previous month.
This service is strictly for the use of Members Only.

Palanpur Online Helpline

Tel: +91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21
Email: info@palanpuronline.com
Time: 10am - 6pm (IST) (Mon to Fri)