+91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21 | +91 8879755458

News & Events

News Room >> News & Event >> News Content
29 Jan 2018
Palanpur Cricket Team Wins Banas Cup Cricket Tournament 2017-18

Over the last two months the Palanpur Cricket Team was engaged in playing the Banas Cup Cricket Tournament and eventually emerged as champions in the finals held on 20th Jan, 2018.  

The Banas Cup, now in its 22nd edition, is a cricket tournament played amongst the different communities (samaj) from the Banaskantha District of Gujarat in Mumbai. 
Starting with four consecutive victories in the league stage of the tournament, the Palanpur team continued its dominant performance right through the semi-finals against Dhanera Samaj and Finals against Dhandhar Samaj. 
In the finals, Palanpur won the toss and opted to bat first, scoring 276 in their 40 overs (Raj Mehta 89, Rishin Shah 52, Anish Bhansali 53). Dhandhar Samaj were 208 all out in 38 overs (Yash Doshi 3 - 35). Raj Mehta was adjudged man of the match.  Full scores can be viewed on http://bit.ly/2GCv6rS
Raj Mehta was presented the Man of the Series award for his stellar performances right through the tournament. In addition to scoring the highest runs in the tournament (277), Raj was the second highest wicket taker for his team (10). Yash Doshi with 19 wickets was presented with the Best Bowler of the tournament award. 
On January 29, the Palanpur cricket team was felicitated by the Palanpur Samaj Kendra in the presence of the team sponsors and PSK group sponsors. The team members were presented with mementos for their achievement on this memorable occasion.
Click here to view more photos
Captions for photos seen above on this web page
Team Palanpur’s Playing XI for the finals (photo on left above)
Seated (L – R) Anish Bhansali, Rupen Jhaveri, Saurabh Jhaveri (Captain), Raj Mehta, Rishin Shah, Yash Doshi
Standing (L – R) Sahil Bhansali, Viral Mehta, Jay Mehta, Kshitij Jhaveri, Aadil Mehta
Other members who represented the team in the tournament included: Nimit Shah, Parag Shah, Sahil Doshi, Samin Parikh and Suken Mody, 
The victorious team with sponsors and well-wishers at the felicitation dinner (photo on right above):

Members can now request for a soft copy of the names and addresses of all those listed in the Directory in Excel format. The copy will contain the list with all the updates that have been informed by members till the last day of the previous month.
This service is strictly for the use of Members Only.

Palanpur Online Helpline

Tel: +91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21
Email: info@palanpuronline.com
Time: 10am - 6pm (IST) (Mon to Fri)