+91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21 | +91 8879755458

News & Events

News Room >> News & Event >> News Content
30 Apr 2018
PSK’s Palanpur Nawabs Semi-Finalists at Bharat Diamond Sports League

 Palanpur Nawabs team

The ‘Palanpur Nawabs’ team of Palanpur Samaj Kendra (PSK) were enthusiastic participants in the Bharat Diamond Sports League Session 1, losing in a tight semi-final to the ultimate winners, the Bharat Diamond Bourse XI. 
The BDSL was the first-ever cricket tournament being organised by Bharat Diamond Bourse in the run up to its Bharat Diamond Week held in late April. BDB Vice president Mehul N Shah was the chief organiser both for the Diamond Week and the Sports League. 

The Palanpur Nawabs team faced an early challenge when it played Team Rosy Blue first. However, they were successful in overcoming the team which has a long cricketing history. But, in their next game, against Bluestar Royals, the team was in for a shock. Despite putting up a formidable score of 213, few fielding lapses cost them the match. As a result, the third game, where they played against Jewelex, became a do-or-die match. Boosted by a special performance by Aadil Mehta (Man of the Match) with boundaries flying all across the ground, the Palanpur Nawabs chased down the opponent’s total in just 14 overs.

At the opening ceremony

In the semi-finals, the Nawabs faced off against Team Bharat Diamond Bourse, the only team that had not only won all their matches at the first stage, but had also done so convincingly. In a low scoring match, the Palanpur team put up a very small score of 137, and though they fought well and prolonged the game till the 19th over, fielding lapses and dropped catches led to their defeat. The BDB XI went on to win the tournament.
While the Palanpur team had emerged victorious in the Banas Cup held earlier this year, putting together a team of 19 players, while adhering to the regulations and requirements of the BDSL had its own challenges. The final squad was a mix of youth and experience, and their performance brought forth some interesting and refreshing young talent. Anish Bhansali played a vital role in bringing the team together into a strong unit.
The team also benefited from the unstinting support of the four sponsors – P N Shah & Co, particularly Ajaybhai, Shreyasbhai and their families; K B Shah & Co, particularly Kanubhai Shah and his family; Shairu Gems, particularly Kumarbhai Mehta & Nitaben Mehta and their family; and Star Brillian, particularly Nikhilbhai and Parth M Shah – and the PSK Committee. 

 Kewal Mody, MVP

A number of teams that took part in the League were sponsored by companies belonging to Palanpuri diamantaires, including Asian Star, Ankit Gems, Mahendra Brothers, Bluestar, Jewelex, Venus Jewel, Rosy Blue and Jasani.

Kewal N. Mody, representing Bluestar Royals, was the only player to score a century in the tournament, and won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. 
The Palanpur Nawab team comprised Anish Bhansali (captain), Saurabh Jhaveri, Viral Mehta, Nimish Shah, Suken Mody,  Aadil Mehta, Ankit Mehta, Ankur Jhaveri, Somil Jhaveri, Kshitij Zaveri, Prasham Shah, Rishin Shah, Nimit Shah, Samin Parikh,  Miraj Shah, Sahil Doshi, Sankit Shah, Nishil Shah and Sanil Mehta.  

Members can now request for a soft copy of the names and addresses of all those listed in the Directory in Excel format. The copy will contain the list with all the updates that have been informed by members till the last day of the previous month.
This service is strictly for the use of Members Only.

Palanpur Online Helpline

Tel: +91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21
Email: info@palanpuronline.com
Time: 10am - 6pm (IST) (Mon to Fri)