+91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21 | +91 8879755458

News & Events

News Room >> News & Event >> News Content
12 Aug 2015
PSK Sports Committee Conducts Silver Jubilee Celebration and Annual Award Function

Palanpur Samaj Kendra (PSK) Sports Committee held a special event on August 2 at Garware Club House (BCA) Banquet Hall, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, to celebrate its Silver Jubilee and felicitate the winners at the various sports events conducted during the year 2014-15. Dr Vijay D.Patil, President of DY Patil Sports Academy was the Chief Guest.

The function began with the lighting of the lamp and Navkhar, after which current Convener of the Sports Committee, Kumar A. Mehta welcomed the guests and gave a short presentation that beautifully summarised the past 25 years since the Sports Group of PSK first came into existence.
He also introduced the members of the sports committee to the audience and invited the Chief Guest, PSK Committee members Jayantibhai Jhaveri, Bharat P Mehta and Sunil Jhaveri, as well as founders of the PSK Sports Group Sanjay A Kothari and Kanubhai B Shah on to the dais.

Addressing the audience, Dr Patil said that he was extremely impressed to hear that so many members of the community have made a mark in the world of sports both at the national and international levels. He urged all present to participate in such sporting activities  and said that sport was a very important part of our lives. His words were motivational  and encouraging for all.

During the function, there was a brief video presentation on the journey of 25 years.

Sanjay Kothari, who first put forward the idea of a sports group an led its formation, as well as Kanubhai Shah founder member and past convener received special mementoes. Former conveners, sponsors and chief guests were also felicitated and special tributes were paid to late Shirishbhai S. Shah, late Nikunjbhai B. Shah and late Manojbhai J. Jhaveri. Nimish Shah, who has managed the events and activities for the past 25 years, including the silver jubilee function, was also honoured.

Other community members who played a crucial role in the success of the function were Tejal and Amish Gandhi who planned and executed the function through their event management agency Komon Cents, and  Maahir Shah who not only was the MC of the function, but also conducted a small talk show that involved various members of the audience. A short entertainment proramme with songs by Varidhi Shah, Anokhi Choksi and Vitraag Mehta also enthralled those present.

Finally, all the winners of the competitions held during the past year were felicitated.

(With inputs from Nita Mehta)

Click here to view more photos

Click here to view winners of Badminton competition

Click here to view winners of Chess, Carrom and Tennis competition

Click here to view winners of Cricket competition


Members can now request for a soft copy of the names and addresses of all those listed in the Directory in Excel format. The copy will contain the list with all the updates that have been informed by members till the last day of the previous month.
This service is strictly for the use of Members Only.

Palanpur Online Helpline

Tel: +91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21
Email: info@palanpuronline.com
Time: 10am - 6pm (IST) (Mon to Fri)