+91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21 | +91 8879755458

News & Events

News Room >> News & Event >> News Content
25 Oct 2015
Four Community Members Elected to Exec Comm of Shree Mahavira Jaina Vidyalaya

Sudhir U. Mehta, Arun B. Shah, Dineshchandra B. Shah  and Shripal N. Desai have been elected to the Executive Committee of Shree Mahavira Jaina Vidyalaya (SMJV), an over 100 year old premier Jain institution that works for enhancement of cultural, social and religious knowledge and practices. SMJV is promoted by Shree Vijay Vallabh Surishwarji Maharaj Saheb.

While Sudhir Uttamlal Mehta has been elected as President, and Arun Babulal Shah as Secretary, the other two are members of the Executive Committee. Sudhirbhai is well known as the Executive Chairman of Torrent Power and for his work with various charitable and educational bodies of the Jain Samaj.

Arun B. Shah is a FCA with a special expertise in handling sick industrial units. He has been active with the SMJV for a long time and earlier served as President and Secretary of the body. He was convener of the Constitution Review Committee and also instrumental in setting up the Sandhurst Rd branch of the organisation.

A Chartered Accountant by profession, Dineshbhai completed his S.S.C. from Shri Vividhlaxi Vidyamandir, Palanpur. He was a Rankholder (among the top 50 students at the all-India level who passed at first attempt) at both (Intermediate and Final) examinations of C.A. Course held in 1972 and 1973 and has served as a member of the Local Management Committee for Sandhurst Road Branch of SMJV. He is also a member of its Direct Taxation Committee of the Indian Merchant Chamber, Mumbai, for several years.

Shripalbhai is also an alumunus of Vidyamandir and a BE from Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar. He has been involved with the gem and jewellery industry, particularly in the fields of education and R&D over the years.

SMJV has been running educational institutions, hostels for boys and girls and other religious and cultural activities in different places in Maharashtra, Gujarat and Rajasthan. The new committee, which was elected in the last week of September, will hold office for three years.
Some other prominent members of the community who are associated with the SMJV as Trustees include Kirtibhai K. Doshi, who has just completed his term as President of the SMJV and Anita S. Mehta.


Members can now request for a soft copy of the names and addresses of all those listed in the Directory in Excel format. The copy will contain the list with all the updates that have been informed by members till the last day of the previous month.
This service is strictly for the use of Members Only.

Palanpur Online Helpline

Tel: +91 - 22 - 40203620 / 21
Email: info@palanpuronline.com
Time: 10am - 6pm (IST) (Mon to Fri)